The main online contacting features of the site are basic. There is a ‘Matches’' tab where you are presented with suggested profiles, and you need to decide whether you want to like or skip them for free.
When you hit the free ‘Like’ button, that member will be notified and will be put on your 'Likes' list. When you decide to skip, you will be presented with the next person to like.
Match.com sites also has a search function called ‘Discover’. There are extensive search filters on this feature which are: gender, age, location, interests, looks, personal information, and lifestyle. You also have the option to search by keyword if you like. You can save your search queries, and you can also customize how you want the search results to be displayed according to a certain category.
Besides sending messages, premium-paying members have two more features that go with their subscription:
MatchPhone allows you to call online the other Match user you like through a custom number assigned by Match dating site. When you click on this feature, Match administrators will connect you and that member through an anonymous line so you could talk freely without being monitored if you like. If things don’t go like the way you want them to, you could block the user from calling you.
Match Me is a feature where you get to appear on the first suggested Match profiles on another member’s ‘Matches’ feature. You can only access the button if you are a premium-paying sites member and if you meet the certain member's search criteria.
This feature is available if you have already started a conversation with another person and have exchanged at least four messages. Once you’ve started, you can use this feature to chat via video whenever you want.
- If you’re making the call:
In your conversations, tap the camera icon that will appear in the top right corner of your screen on your smartphone or computer. Take the time to get to know each other better before sharing your personal information.
Do not be pressured and you are not required to push that button. If you feel like it's not yet the time to talk, all you have to do is press decline.
If you accept the video call, do it with confidence and peace of mind. If you ever experience inappropriate behavior, report it to the site immediately or as soon as the date is over by clicking on the “report” button. Feel free to end the date whenever you wish.